WebHost4Life

I’m a truly dedicated WebHost4Life fan.  Been using them for something like 8 years now ? They were always responsive to any request, and they even allowed me to make some exceptions (I had a program I needed to be able to run on the server).

The control panel, although not the prettiest thing, got the job done.

Let me step back one moment and say they were advertising and telling me about how they were upgrading their system and all the improvements and ease of use and performance it would bring. I was looking forward to it.  It was delayed I noticed when I’d come to the site, but it would say they are ‘testing everything’.  That made me feel better about it all as well.

Well… I felt that way until 3 weeks ago. 3 weeks ago, without warning they flipped the switch.

Day 1: the forum I used for my community (MYSQL) was practically unusable.  Extremely slow. So badly I couldn’t even post to the community that there was a problem.  I entered a ticket, it took escalating the ticket 3 times.  5 days later it was working.  It’s still much slower than before.  5 days.

When I would chat or get a ticket I started noticing a trend… every single correspondance was ‘I’m sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you…’.  Like it was the scripted response to everything.

But ok, that was fine until I went to my .net main site that uses MSSQL. Hmmm, I track and store data and noticed the last data entry was a month ago.  One month behind.  All the data for the last month was gone.  What???  Another ticket.  Another 5 days. I never got a response.  They literally never answered.  They had no backup to offer me.  Data was gone, forever.

The best answer I got was ‘I’m sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you’.

But wait, it gets better. Remember how they were so good to work with on running my program I need ?  Despite everything I said, they flat out refused ‘it’s against our policy’.  I’m like ‘I’ve been running this safely for 8 years ???’.  Didn’t matter.  I asked to talk to manager.  They said ‘ok’. Ticket sat in the queue for 3 more days.

Three days later, I responded, asking what the status is.  Same response – ‘it’s against our policy’ – it wasn’t from a manager either.

Let’s talk about the control panel.. it’s pretty.  Pretty slow.  Pretty useless.  I need to backup my database (since they can’t migrate it properly), but the tool throws some .net exception on the webpage.  Customer support said ‘try Firefox’. Same error.

This is twice in 3 weeks I had to open a ticket for a buggy control panel that throws exceptions.

Lastly, I have a requirement to upload files.  So I have to set permissions.  They said ‘add a new user’.  I said ‘no this is the internet user’ .  The old ‘ugly’ control panel handled all this fine and perfectly.  The new tool… timed out.  The final ticket response was ‘use your FTP program to change permissions’.

I should add, I have lost 80% of my community. They were all very disapointed to find out the data was gone.  The forum they meet and talk and plan events was unusable.  The program I run can’t be run so the events can’t run.  I have to re-code the app now (it was given to me, no source code).

I’m writing this because as a consumer, I really feel I’ve been thrown and tossed around by a company that doesn’t respect a loyal customer.  Who must be too big now to value guys like me.  Back ‘in the day’ I suspect they worked well with me because they were a good company.  Something has changed.

I highly suggest – don’t use Webhost4life.  You will regret it.

So, needless to say, I’m looking for a new host.  One of the things I liked about Webhost4life was that I could run my mysql blog and forum as well as my .net site.  It ‘was’ easy to manage.  Secondly they don’t charge for bandwith usage.  I don’t use too much, but I had confort knowing the bill would always be the same amount.

Quite disapointing to me in a time where companies are susposedly struggling with the economy. I would think a shift would occur where they valued their customers.  Instead, I’m just another ‘policy’ to them that pays a year in advance…

Powered by Qumana

13 thoughts on “WebHost4Life

  1. I dumped them about a year and a half ago, and just recently I started getting email notices that they were trying to charge my card again (luckily that card expired) so I told them to shut everything down, but in order to do that they told me I had to migrate my account to the new system. I couldn’t get it through their heads that I no longer had an account with them. What a pain!

  2. Pingback: IwantCandy-271
  3. Steve –

    I have been using winhost.com for all of my projects lately and would highly suggest them. I have also used discountasp.net with good results. I previously used brinkster.com for nearly 7 years, but they have not gotten better over time.

    -Jeff

  4. So did you ever get your database back? I’m having the same issues. Funny thing is I can still log into the server on the “old” platform using SSMS (sql395.mysite4now.com), but I can’t seem to save a backup to somewhere that I can download it from.

  5. Well I guess it’s time for me to vent. I see most responses here come from very recent dates.
    Mine is very recent last 2 weeks. I cant believe how this company webhost4life can exist. I too went through the “we are migrating your sites” with a nightmare there after. I was dumbfounded to see they hadn’t even moved all my files form the original structure. Which made me really mad. I had to go back in and rebuild all the content that was missing. This of course was after the many days of it will take us 24-48 hours bull%$^ to resolve the fact the sites would not even come up.
    I do not wish this company webhost4life on my worst enemy if I had one. I was happy to see that this thread came up on a google search for their name webhost4life on the first page. I hope others read this and make a better decision as to where to host there sites.

  6. Long time in responding David (I had so much spam that I didn’t see the few non-spam comments – doh!).

    But basically I was able to get to mysql and export data. I really screwed up though by not using the WordPress export feature.

    So the end result was that any post I have that used images is gone – I lost those – and the character set – I messed that up so my old blog posts have the wierd characters.

    That said, at least I salvaged the core posts. Which I’m glad because some of those I go back and reference myself when I’m thinking ‘I did this before let me go check my blog’ – lol

  7. We have (which is about to be ‘had’) a wide range of global client websites on VPS services at Webhost4life. They were an OK, cheap alternative to hosting in Australia. That was until they were purchased and migrated to some “new beta platform”.

    Since then, they have gone from OK to absolutely terrible (and I’m being polite here). We were given 4 hours notice of the migration of some 8 global sites (that included two for a major global beer brand and two for a major global mobile phone company – so not trivial players) and despite desperate and repeated pleas by our CTO not to proceed until we had domains sorted, etc, they ploughed ahead with the migration.

    The result was all sites being taken off line. We then went through the process of creating support tickets (we also called them and tried to get through to ‘management’ but were repeatedly told that no one could help…) and working through our global client’s IT departments to get DNS changes, et al. WH4L was no help and we still – some 2 weeks later – still have some sites down because they cannot seem to get ASP.NET working on their servers.

    My only advice is stay away from these guys – they are the worst of the worst. There are plenty of great global hosts out there and I’m just sorry we stayed as long as we did. And the biggest insult – they have increased their prices… wow!!

  8. THEY ARE CHEATS . THEY TOOK MONEY IN ADVANCE FOR ALL THE FEATURES WE WANTED BUT THEY DO NOT SUPPORT ALL FEATURES . THEIR SERVICE IS THE WORST I EVER ENCOUNTERED . MY BUSINESS IS RUNNING LIVE THERE AND I AM LOOSING MONEY BECAUSE OF THEM . THEY ARE NOT RESPONDING ANYMORE. CAN ANYONE TELL ME HOW I CAN SUE THEM IN COURT . I WANT THEM TO PAY ME PENALTY FOR ALL THE LOSSES I AM MAKING . PLEASE HELP …. NEVER TAKE THEIR SERVICE PLEASE … THEY ARE CHEATS , UNPROFESSIONAL AND JUST HORRIBLE.

Leave a Reply

